Ten contestants will be vying for office when the Audio Visual Rights Society of Ghana (ARSOG) holds its elections on Friday October 6, 2017 in Kumasi.


The ten contestants are Kaakyire Kwame Appiah, Kofi Owusu Ohemeng, Ashangbor Akwetey-Kanyi, Samuel Kwesi Nyamekye, Richard Prempeh, Augustine Abbey and Evans Kumi Wadewor who are producers and authors. Mercy Asiedu Agyeman Duah, Taju Yusif and Ahmed Saani are representing performers.


Eight of the ten will be elected and they in turn will elect their officers for the various positions from among their ranks. The eight elected directors will coopt two experts in the industry and in addition to the General Manager will form the eleven member board for ARSOG with five year tenure of office.


According to the chairman of the Elections Committee of ARSOG, James Twumasi Ankrah, the elections will be held at the Apatakesie Hall, in the National Cultural Centre, Kumasi following the successful vetting of their members who picked nominations forms to contest in the elections.


Mr Twumasi Ankrah gave the assurance that all necessary arrangements have been concluded for a successful election which will be supervised by the Electoral Commission of Ghana with the support of the Elections Committee.


The vetting exercise was conducted by the nine member Elections Committee which comprises the chairman James Twumasi Ankrah; Kwame Oppong, vice chairman; Habib Salisu, Secretary; Edinam Atatsi, Deputy Secretary; Felix Arhin, PRO; and James Osei Tutu, Deputy PRO. The other members are Christopher Dadzie, Organizer; Michael Afranie, Assistant Organizer and Major Federick Kwasi Gyampo (rtd), General Manager of ARSOG.

Lisa Baakope

Lisa Baakope, is the author of this website, a Ghanaian broadcast journalist, nature lover, humanitarian and a passionate music lover. Enjoy your visit